29 Jan 2018 von lbiad

33rd International Austrian Winter Symposium – Radioactive Isotopes in Molecular Imaging

24th – 27th January 2018, the LBI:AD was part of the 33rd International Austrian Winter Symposium that was organized by the Austrian Society of Nuclear Medicine & Molecular Imaging  together with the 13th ALPE ADRIA Nuclear Medicine Symposium. Traditionally, the scientific event was supported by the wonderful atmosphere of Zell am See, Austria.

An intriguing start was given by the traditional “Zell lecture” presented by the Austrian profiler Dr Thomas Müller. With his lecture under the title “The Criminal Psychological Point of View of Personal Crisis Situations”, he strengthened the audience’s social competences that are especially important in the life of physicists and scientists.

Our director, Markus Mitterhauser chaired the session “What’s Up, Sugar?” together with his valued and trusted friend and colleague Wolfgang Wadsak. Furthermore, excellent research was awarded with the “OGNMB – General Research Award 2017” (sponsored by BSM) and the “Ilse Zolle – Award for Basic Sciences in Nuclear Medicine 2017” (sponsored by THP).

A very special highlight of this year’s symposium was the awarding of “Honorary Membership of the OGNMB” to emer Prof Dr Rudolf Höfer, who founded of the European Association of Nuclear Medicine in 1985. The historical moment was rounded off by a film presentation about the founding period of nuclear medicine in the early 50s.

With the pioneers lecture “45 Years of Nuclear Medicine 1973 – 2018: A To-Do List for Young Scientists”, Hans J. Biersack included especially the newest generation on nuclear medicine researchers.

Overall, the event was rich in information and especially recent research results, while the informal atmosphere supported active communication and networking. We want to thank the organisers for their efforts and are looking forward to next year’s symposium!

a. OGNMB Congress 2018
b. Thomas Beyer, Marcus Hacker, Rudolf Höfer, Wolfgang Wadsak
c. Markus Mitterhauser, Wolfgang Wadsak
d. OGNMB Congress 2018